Charles Roberts and Margaret Baker
Charles Roberts and Margaret Baker

Community members and students gathered at Rogers High School for the 53rd annual Black History Month Assembly on Feb. 16. The event attracted community stalwarts like Pauline Perkins-Moye, Cheryl and Marvin Abney, Fern Lima, Bill West, Mike Lopes and Victoria Johnson.

Rogers senior Devonta Campbell served as moderator. In his opening remarks, Campbell noted the contributions of Newporters of color, including former mayor Paul Gaines, Florence Gray and Rev. Robert L. Williams.

Rev. Glen S. Leverette presented the George T. Downing Award to Charles Roberts. Roberts expressed his hope that the students gathered would become future agents of change.

Jelani Jackson was the recipient of the Dr. Marcus F. Wheatland Award and Scholarship. Rev. William P. Zelazny highlighted Jackson’s dedication to the community and academic achievement, saying that Jackson is a member of the National Honor Society, class president, a community service coordinator, and plays on the volleyball and softball teams.

Rev. Kevin Beesley presented Campbell with the Assembly Moderator Scholarship, noting that Campbell has set himself apart as a student, athlete and leader. Campbell is a member of the basketball team, captain of the track and field team, a member of the residential carpentry program, the Key Club, Future Business Leaders, and the Film Production Club. Additionally, he is enrolled in myriad honors classes.

Both students thanked their families and the teachers at Rogers High School for their support and for pushing them to better themselves.

Award winner Jelani Jackson with mother Courtni Jackson
Award winner Jelani Jackson with mother Courtni Jackson

Related Articles


Search the RISHM Site